Home (Global)About UsWorking for IARUVolunteer Recognition

Volunteer Recognition

At the global level the IARU recognizes its most dedicated volunteers with the following awards.

Michael J. Owen, VK3KI, was involved with the IARU for over 40 years before his untimely death in 2012. His multiple roles as a volunteer included time as a Director and Chairman of Region 3 and as IARU Vice President and Technical Expert, in addition to extraordinary accomplishments as President of the Wireless Institute of Australia. He made substantial contributions of his time and skill before and during both WARC-79 and WRC-03.

The Administrative Council established the Michael J. Owen, VK3KI, Memorial Award in 2012 to perpetuate his memory and to recognize those outstanding volunteers whose exceptional service to the IARU reflect the spirit, hard work and dedication of our departed friend and colleague.

The award is reserved for individuals who have served in multiple capacities in the IARU (including its member-societies and regional organizations) over a considerable period of time and whose work and dedication have materially benefited the IARU. An award may not be made every year. Nominations for the award, along with any written supporting information or material, should be sent to the IARU Secretary no later than 30 days before an Administrative Council meeting.

Award recipients to date:

Wojciech Nietyksza, SP5FM (Voted September 2013, presented May 2014)

Dr. David A. Wardlaw, VK3ADW (Voted September 2013, presented June 2014)

David Sumner, K1ZZ (February 2016)

Rod Stafford, W6ROD (October 2016)

Reinaldo Leandro, YV5AM (September 2019)

Ole Garpestad, LA2RR (December 2019 – not yet presented)

There are three additional categories of awards for IARU volunteers and others. The awards are made at the discretion of the IARU officers upon the nomination of an individual by any of the officers or any member of the Administrative Council. They consist of a plaque or certificate, depending on the category under which the individual is nominated, with appropriate wording to reflect the basis on which the award has been earned. Where possible, the award will be presented by one of the IARU officers. The awards are available to individuals who meet one of the following criteria:

IARU Diamond Award: An IARU volunteer of long standing who has provided services over a significant number of years and has shown exceptional diligence during a long period of service. Examples: an individual who has acted as a coordinator in one of the volunteer positions, individuals who have volunteered to represent IARU at ITU meetings over a number of cycles, and IARU technical representatives who have performed work above and beyond what is expected of them over a number of years. Recognition is in the form of a particularly attractive plaque.

IARU Gold Award: An IARU volunteer who has a long record of consistent service, or who may have not been in that position for a significant time but has provided services to a specific, longer term goal of the IARU. Example: volunteers for a single WRC/WTDC cycle or individuals who have performed a time consuming, extraordinary role for the IARU. Recognition is in the form of a plaque.

IARU Silver Award: An IARU volunteer or other individual who performs a single “one off” role for IARU that is noteworthy and valued by the organization. This might include significant assistance by a non-amateur at a WRC or RTO meeting or an action by an individual amateur from a member-society that has benefits for all amateurs. Recognition is in the form of a certificate.

The following Diamond Awards have been made:

2016: Christian M. Verholt, OZ8CY

2016: Hans van de Groenendaal, ZS6AKV

2017: Attila Matas, HB9IAJ

2017: Thilo Kootz, DL9KCE

2018: Dale E. Hughes, VK1DSH

2018: Hans Zimmermann, HB9AQS/F5VKP

2019: Wolfgang Hadel, DK2OM

2019: Keigo Komuro, JA1KAB

Additional recipients of awards have been selected and will be announced at the appropriate time.

The regional IARU organizations recognize their volunteers through separate programs.

Print This Page Updated on May 25, 2021

Materials on this website may be subject to copyright.